homecoming dinner

I’m sorry if you begin to read this and are expecting the details of some sort of banquet but its not going to be that kind of dinner. Yesterday Ross came home from university. I haven’t seen him since January and I like to give him his choice of dinner on his first night home. So, what does he choose? Something exotic and complicated? No. Pasta. With tomato sauce. His absolute favourite meal – ever! When he’s at home it features on the menu every week. This is definitely a store cupboard dinner – apart from the basil – I just can’t keep my basil plants going for more than a couple of days at this time of year. I seem to glance their way and they wilt.

20110320-150508.jpg

what you need – and it’s not much

2 or 3 cloves of garlic, crushed
olive oil
2 x 400g tins chopped tomatoes
balsamic vinegar
sugar
salt and pepper
basil
pasta
freshly grated parmesan – lots

Put a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a pan on a low heat and cook the garlic without colouring.  Add the tinned tomatoes along with a couple of teaspoons of sugar, a slug of balsamic vinegar (I use Belazu because it’s what I have in the cupboard and it is delicious, but don’t mortgage the house to buy it) and some salt and pepper.  Bring to the boil and then turn down the heat and leave to simmer gently for about 45 minutes.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  Just before serving add some fresh basil.  Serve with your choice of pasta.  I suspect I use fusilli so that I don’t have tomato sauce splattered over my (usually white) t-shirt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to homecoming dinner

  1. c ward says:

    Looks amazing! Hope it’s on the menu when I visit xx

  2. fiona Potter says:

    looks gorgeous and am about to make it. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

