mothers day

Meringues are one of my favourite desserts and I have to say I make them often – and then try not to eat them all on my own! Well, it was mothers day on Sunday so I thought I’d indulge myself. Meringues and some really quite tasty Moroccan strawberries. I know I should really wait for our own strawberries (I mean Scottish since we don’t actually grown any in the garden) but I couldn’t resist them. Both were delicious. And of course I remembered to take a photo before I ate them but it didn’t look great so I just had to eat them again last night. Better picture this time. Pity. There are still some left. Just sitting there. Waiting.

Meringues are so easy to make. And fat-free – how good is that! Firstly you need a clean, grease-free bowl. Then, for every large egg white you need 2 ounces of caster sugar. For those of you who work in metric there is usually a switch on digital scales which you can use to get pounds/ounces. 3 egg whites, 6 ounces sugar. Easy peasy. Line a baking tray with non-stick baking parchment ready for your meringues. Have your eggs at room temperature and be careful not to get any yolk in with the whites cos they won’t whip up properly.

Whisk the whites with a hand mixer at low speed to loosen them a little and then increase the speed to high and whisk until you have stiff peaks. At this stage you can begin to whisk in the sugar a spoonful at a time. By the time you have whisked in all the sugar your mixture will be beautifully thick and shiny and ready to put on your baking try in lovely big spoonfuls. I bet you’re thinking I’ve forgotten to put on the oven but I am lucky enough to have an AGA so I just need to put them in the bottom oven for about an hour to an hour and a half. They come out crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside. And they keep quite well for about 5 days – if they last that long!

20110406-101410.jpg

WARNING – the cream in this meringue is not fat-free and may do serious damage to your waistline!

This entry was posted in desserts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to mothers day

  1. susied123 says:

    I have tasted these fabulous meringues – the best ones I have ever had. So delicious, perfect texture!

Leave a Reply

