fast food

I know that to have a good blog ONE of the things you have to do is blog often. Thing is, this week I’ve been out a lot and not really had much time to blog or cook! It made me think of Elizabeth David’s book ‘An Omelette and a Glass of Wine’. I confess I haven’t read it but generally, in our house, if I’m short of time that’s what we have – an omelette – and nearly always with a glass of wine! They just seem to go together. An omelette is my fast food. Quicker than going to the supermarket and buying a ready-made meal for sure. I always have eggs in the fridge and on this occasion I also had some leftover boiled potatoes to sauté.

What you need – 2 large eggs (organic if possible), some butter, salt and pepper, whatever you’d like for a filling and a 20cm non-stick frying pan. I made cheese and tomato as I had some parmesan already grated from when we had pasta earlier in the week. (I was going to tell you about it but it didn’t look very appetising in the photo so you’ll have to wait until next time. Sorry.) If you don’t have any leftover potatoes, have crusty bread instead.

Ready? OK. Crack a couple of eggs into a small bowl and add half an eggshell full of cold water along with some salt and pepper. Whisk the eggs and water together until just mixed. Have the filling beside the hob. Put the frying pan on a high heat, add some butter and swirl around the pan but don’t let it brown. Quickly add the eggs and then, with a fork or spatula, move the cooked egg over and let the raw egg fill the space. Add your filling and then, when there is still some uncooked egg left, fold the eggs over in half or thirds and get on the plate pronto. Omelettes don’t like to be kept waiting. Opinions vary on the finished colour but I like mine just as you see it (and trust me I didn’t make six just to get it right!).

20110409-163718.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

