day 18

I don’t believe it – we finished at 4.55pm today! I missed the 6.30am walk round the garden with the ornithologist due to being tucked up in my bed until 6.45am. Bread duty again today – brown soda bread. Tim is always around to help in the morning and is so patient. The buttermilk today was really good and my dough was wetter which makes lighter bread. Definitely an improvement. He then summoned us, with cameras, to the office (?) to see the baby chicken in the incubator.

20110519-185116.jpg

Now you can all give a big aaaaah!

I made raspberry jam (with an iceberg-sized block of frozen raspberries) to fill my beautiful butter sponge. Mashed turnip (one of my absolute favourite winter vegetables) with caramelized onions was seriously yummy and even looked good. I think today might have been a 3 out of 3!

20110519-190913.jpg

Since we finished early I’m going to have a glass of wine, watch an episode of The Good Wife and chill.

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

