day 37, tuesday

I went into the kitchen this morning with no idea what I was going to be cooking since I was absent on Friday so I thought I would make some scones (hoping for an improvement on the first lot, made in week one) and then wait and see what Joe, my partner for the week, wanted to do since he was here on Friday. He chose chocolate profiteroles and hake with tomato and fresh spices and I made fresh pasta and Ardsallagh goat cheese with rocket leaves, roast pepper and tapenade oil.

As I hadn’t seen any of the demonstrations on Friday I was cooking with no idea what the food looked like or tasted like nor did I have any of the tips that are usually given out during demos. I suppose it’s just like cooking at home except there I usually have a picture to give me a clue as to what it should look like when I’m finished. The pasta was really good and the starter salad delicious – not at all what I had expected.

20110607-224000.jpg

After demo I went to turn my cheese. Deirdre, Margaret and I decided to go on an educational walk through the herb garden (quick swot for Friday’s exam) and we were debating the identity of some when we realised Eileen (gardener) was in the potting shed! A private tour followed – with samples – all we had to do was remember what they were when we got ‘home’! But first we nipped over to the glasshouse (with a quick stop to say hello to one of the pigs) and picked up some salad leaves – let’s hope we get 10/10 on Friday!

20110608-063416.jpg

Oink, oink!

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

