day 44, tuesday

I knew today was going to be a busy day so I was again up at school by 7.45. I had planned to make some bread but changed my mind and made some shortcrust pastry instead. I also took advantage of Tim being around and got my flaky pastry to stage one and put it in the fridge. I was also making Pâté de Campagne – a lovely terrine with pistachios through it – and celeriac remoulade. The morning didn’t go quite as I had planned. The terrine requires a bit of preparation but then you can forget about it for a couple of hours. The chicken livers were ideally supposed to marinate for 2 hours in some brandy but in reality they got as long as it took to get the rest of the ingredients together. I whisked up a double batch of mayo – thankfully in the food processor – and grated two celeriac. The kitchen was so hot I think I might have expired if I’d had to whisk it by hand! And then, surprise – a cheese souffle was needed. In between all of this I had to fit in rolling out my flaky pastry! My shortcrust pastry never did make it out of the fridge but the cheese souffle was fab – it rose magnificently and was light as a feather. And the remoulade was pretty good too. My terrine is currently being weighted down (no, I’m not sitting on it) in the kitchen and I will make sure I take a photo when I cut it open. My flaky pastry is lying in wait for me to make rhubarb tart on Friday.

20110614-201130.jpg

This is my starter, used for making sourdough bread – I have to look after it like a baby and feed it every day. I know it doesn’t look like much but it means that I won’t need to use yeast. Everyone’s is different and it can change when you move it to a different place. For the lowdown, I refer you to Wikipedia .

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

