day 49, sunday

Had a nice big sleep last night and a leisurely breakfast – practiced my technique for frying an egg – perfect for me but perhaps not for school! I also made a ‘biga’ which I am using tomorrow to make ciabatta bread.

How serious are we about our bread? Sourdough starters on the top, bigas on the shelf below. Check out the collection of jam jars on the left filled with delicious preserves – made by us of course!

20110619-171529.jpg

I won’t bore you with the details of the supermarket trip (and definitely no picture since they all look the same).

Deirdre went for a walk up to the cookery school and picked some of the radishes we’d planted a few weeks ago. I always thought I didn’t like radishes until I tasted them here on the first day. They are lovely dipped in sea salt.

20110619-172928.jpg

It was a lovely day – warm but with a cool breeze – so I took myself down to the beach for a walk before making some pasta with tomato sauce for my dinner.

20110619-203255.jpg

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to day 49, sunday

  1. Kath says:

    Ok I have never heard of a biga before – do tell me more. Have I missed it in an earlier post.

  2. cookycaroline says:

    No, you haven’t missed it. It’s a small amount of yeast with flour and water which you leave overnight and then mix into the bread next day. I was planning to make sourdough today but ciabatta made an appearance on Friday so I thought I’d give it a whirl!

  3. Kath says:

    Ok, so it’s like a sponge then, by the sounds of it.

  4. cookycaroline says:

    Yes. It is.

Leave a Reply

