day 59, wednesday

Didn’t go gardening this morning but did go back to school. I managed to finish my brioche and by the time it came out of the oven I was starving! Brioche and strawberry jam – very yummy. I will definitely make these at home. I think I might even like them more than croissants.

20110629-215624.jpg

I was a very busy bee today. I also made hollandaise sauce, dill mayonnaise, cucumber pickle, puff pastry and cooked some runner beans. I’m not sure what I’ll be making on friday with my puff pastry – I think I’ll have to have a look through Darina’s book to see what the options are. I saw someone make mini croissants with theirs but of course proper croissants are made with yeast – my brain must really have been working on half power not to register this – but hopefully I’ll have time to make some before the end of the course.

I managed to get out for a walk after school as the sun was shining. Deirdre and I walked along part of the cliff walk at Ballycotton. Maybe one day I’ll walk the whole distance . . .

20110629-220522.jpg

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

