day 69, saturday

Woke up with the birds as usual this morning so I decided to go and make bread. I chose to make white yeast bread. It was all looking pretty good until I was plaiting it. I didn’t get the rolling of the strips right so Tim just scrapped it (to work on later) and I continued to practice the rolling in the hope of getting the hang of it – eventually!

20110709-232121.jpg

I also shaped some dough into buns and Tim suggested steaming them in the wok. They turned out pretty well. If I ever find myself wanting bread and don’t have an oven at least I’ll know what to do now.

Some of the others made croissants which they had begun yesterday. I was off sick the day these were done at school so I was watching to see how they were done – a bit like puff pastry but with yeast. I noticed there was some strawberry jam bubbling away . . . . . oh yummy, croissant and jam for breakfast! (Well, maybe lunch.)

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

