day 74, thursday

I decided to make pasta again but this time stuffed with Gillian Hegarty’s slow cooked pork shoulder and also chilled cucumber soup. I took my time with the pasta and everyone who passed by whilst I was making it said that it looked lovely – but the kitchen was hot and I think it wasn’t quite thin enough because when I served it up it wasn’t cooked properly. The cucumber soup on the other hand was scrummy and I had some for lunch. I also cooked some marsh samphire which not only have I never eaten, I’ve never cooked it either. It gets cooked in boiling water but needs no salt as it is already salty enough – quite delicious. And no butter or oil. Yippee!

20110714-201610.jpg

I always enjoy the walk up to school in the morning and today was no exception. The sun was shining and it looked like it was going to be a lovely day. I remarked to both Darina and Tim how much I enjoyed the walk through the gardens in the mornings. It’s so peaceful. There are so many wild flowers, butterflies and apple trees too. It looks like it’s going to be a good crop this year but we will all be long gone by then.

20110714-202805.jpg

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

