day 75, friday

Thank heavens it’s Friday! I couldn’t decide what to cook today. Most of the items on our list had a huge amount of fat in them one way or another but I really wanted to do the lobster. I decided to make lobster risotto and Sorcha gave me a risotto masterclass!

20110715-182536.jpg

Handsome chaps (I think – actually I’m not quite sure how you tell the boys from the girls) but they didn’t look too happy going in the pot! Lobster makes a great risotto because the tomalley (the green, creamy liver – a delicacy apparently) adds lots of flavour. I really enjoyed the lesson and kept some of my risotto for lunch. Seriously good. Thanks Sorcha!

20110715-183933.jpg

I also made some frites and more puff pastry – in the hope that I get better with practice. At the pastry not the frites. Monday is our last proper day of cooking – our 12 week course is almost at an end.

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

