day 79, Tuesday

Today was the last demo of the course with Rory – and of course we weren’t going to have to cook any of it! Whole poached salmon, oeufs a la neige, carpaccio of beef ( no cooking required), quail, oysters with champagne sauce and the list went on. The bonus was that we were able to have it for our lunch.

20110720-205028.jpg

20110720-205105.jpg

After lunch I hung around the school until it was time for the cook ahead section of my exam. I made my yoghurt ice cream – watching it churn in the machine is a bit like watching a kettle boil. Anyway, it’s done.

In the evening we went for a walk around the school gardens – perhaps the last one. I wanted to see how the courgette plant was doing – the one I planted ages ago. Well, given that’s it’s been outside in the tropical Irish weather – I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw two courgettes!

20110720-210554.jpg

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

