feet up and a nice cup of tea

I do enjoy the ritual of making a pot of mint tea after dinner but I didn’t take my teapot with me to Ballymaloe so it was the teabag in a mug instead. I love teapigs mint tea but was quite shocked to discover (at Ballymaloe) that teapigs is owned by Tetley! Here was me thinking I’d found a lovely small tea company doing really interesting things . . . how wrong was I!

20110805-213009.jpg

Only 23 teapigs to go!

I’m afraid I’ve got things round the wrong way tonight writing about after dinner before writing about what I had for dinner. And I’m going to backtrack a little more – last week I was browsing in the book shop, passing the time of day, and before I knew it I was at the till buying Angela Hartnett’s new book – The Taste of Home. My cookery book library will soon rival Darina’s if I’m not careful.

Anyway, back to the dinner. Here I am with a lovely new book so I decided to try the Thai fish cakes served with a honey dip. The fish cakes (made with pollack and the usual Thai ingredients) were light, tasty and certainly quick to make, but the honey dip didn’t quite work for me. Perhaps it was my Scottish honey, but I felt the dip overpowered the flavour of the fish cakes. I’d like to try them again with a Thai dipping sauce.

20110805-221106.jpg

Tomorrow I’m going to be making strawberry jam!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

