girls’ night in

I was invited to my friend Sarah’s house on Saturday for a girls’ night to catch up on what everyone’s been doing over the summer. When I asked if could bring anything the reply was ‘something to nibble with our drinks’. I wondered if this was a test – I’ve been to Ballymaloe, let’s see, what should I make?

I decided to try sushi. Never made it before. We had a demonstration on the art of making sushi at Ballymaloe. Let me tell you it wasn’t as easy as it looked!

I made the sushi rice and mixed it with the vinegar/sugar/salt mixture and cooled it. No problem.

20110920-173833.jpg

Then came the tricky bit – moving the sheet of seaweed over the gas for a few seconds WITHOUT burning it! Phew! I only burnt one bit. The rolling wasn’t too difficult but the rice kept sticking to my fingers when I was spreading it on the seaweed. I made maki sushi, nigiri sushi and California rolls. It took me a lot longer than I had anticipated but looked quite impressive. Some soy sauce, ginger and wasabi to go with it – perfect!

20110920-175805.jpg

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

