winter is here

Winter is definitely here. I know because I needed two fleeces and gloves when I went for a walk on Sunday! I could live with the cold if the days were all like this!

20111110-172243.jpg

When I came back I decided what the body needed was a nice warming bowl of soup – some of my delicious, nutritious ribollita – your 5-a-day all in own bowl (well, maybe). This is what I have when I’m being super-healthy (which of course would be most of the of the time 🙂 ) as it doesn’t have much fat in it (but it is extra tasty with some Parmesan sprinkled over!).

What you need is some olive oil, an onion, a couple of celery sticks, 2-3 carrots (all chopped), a couple of leeks (washed and sliced), some chopped garlic, 2 tins of chopped tomatoes, 2 tins of cannellini beans (rinsed), a squirt of tomato purĂ©e and some stock – about 1-1/2 litres. I use Marigold Organic Vegan Bouillon. And a cabbage – savoy, my favourite. These quantities are not exact. If you love carrots, feel free to put in more – this is just the way I like it. You also need a very big pot. I use my biggest Le Creuset. When it’s full it almost does me an injury when I lift it out of the bottom oven of the AGA!

20111110-175038.jpg

Heat the olive oil and sautĂ© the chopped onion, carrot, celery and leeks for five minutes or so then add the garlic. Give it another minute and then add the tomatoes, tomato purĂ©e, beans and as much cabbage as you dare. Pour in enough stock to cover well, bring it up to a simmer and pop it in the bottom oven of the AGA for an hour or until the vegetables are cooked which of course will depend on how big/small you chopped them! You may want to add some more stock when its cooked but if you use the Marigold Bouillon it is unlikely you’ll have to add any seasoning.

20111110-193631.jpg

I get about a dozen portions from these quantities so my freezer is filling up. I’ll be alright if we get snowed in anytime soon!

This entry was posted in soup, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

