butter balls

It feels like a long time since the moules frites but after the rewiring there was some redecoration to be done and everything had to be put back in its rightful place. Then Ross came home from university with lots of washing. Well, maybe he brought a few books too. And then there’s been the Christmas shopping . . . . . so I’ve been busy!

A couple a weeks ago I had some friends round for dinner and I decided to make some butter balls – they’re always a talking point! My mum had these butter pats (sometimes called hands or paddles) which I fell heir to. She used them much more than I do. I vaguely remember her soaking them in a jug of ice cold water before she used them, so I do the same. I suspect it prevents the butter sticking to the wood.

Just in case you have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m going to show you the pictures first and then it’ll be easy to explain the process – I hope!

20111219-194113.jpg

First of all, cut some firm butter into small cubes – roughly 1cm. Then take the butter pats with a cube of butter between them and rotate them in opposite directions, pressing quite firmly, and then before you know it you’ll have these delightful little butter balls!

They’re also used to shape a block of butter when you make it at home. And before you ask – no, I don’t, but I could if I had to. Lots of people made butter at Ballymaloe and it was seeing some butter pats there that reminded me I had some tucked away in a cupboard at home.

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to butter balls

  1. Srah Allan says:

    we were very impressed by your butter balls and had a lovely evening, thanks, Sarah x

Leave a Reply

