Christmas mince pies

When I started to make my own mince pies (many moons ago) I bought the shortcrust pastry and the mincemeat. Now, I make both. They may not look perfect, but they taste pretty good. Delia’s mincemeat is very straightforward, not to mention delicious, and keeps for ages so I make a batch every year and give some to friends and family. My sister makes Christmas cakes so we do a swap – I get cake and she gets mincemeat. I think I get the better deal but just so you know, I do marzipan and ice the cake myself. Which reminds me . . . . I still have to do it! Ooops! And I just make regular shortcrust pastry. You can make them and freeze them cooked or uncooked ready to pop in the oven for any unexpected visitors (or just for you!). I bake them in the AGA with tin on the grid shelf on the floor of the roasting oven for about 15 minutes, a bit longer if you’re cooking them from frozen.

20111224-150116.jpg

I usually put slightly bigger stars on the top but ran out of pastry! I hope you give them a try and enjoy them as much as we do.

Merry Christmas 🙂

This entry was posted in baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas mince pies

  1. I like the little stars, it means you get caramelised mincemeat, mmm…

Leave a Reply

