Seville orange marmalade

It’s time for making marmalade again. Seville oranges arrive in the shops during January or early February and they really make the best marmalade. Tangy and not too sweet. I like to use the AGA method given in The AGA Book by Mary Berry. I think this is the same book that I have – it has the same name but a different cover so I couldn’t swear to it. Not that I swear. Well, not often.

I was going to say I had never made marmalade before I got an AGA but actually I did make it once . . . . . . . years ago. I remember we (my aunt and I) put the sugar in far too early (proving you should, of course, read a recipe all the way through before you begin) and the resulting marmalade set like a trampoline! Can’t remember what else we did or didn’t do but we still laugh about it.

Making marmalade is a lovely way to spend the day in the kitchen. There are lots of different recipes for marmalade but I like Mary Berry’s because once the oranges are cooked the flesh and pith come away from the skin really easily, leaving the peel nice and clean. This makes it easy to cut the peel finely. It takes an age to slice it all, but gives a very good final result.

20120119-175945.jpg

If you’re looking at my picture of the marmalade and thinking it looks really dark, you would be right. As an alternative, Mary Berry suggests replacing a small amount of granulated sugar with dark muscovado sugar which gives a much darker finish. We like both ways so I do half quantity with just granulated sugar and the other half with some dark muscovado sugar added. Mary also offers another alternative with whisky but whisky and me don’t go together – but that’s another story! 🙂

I hope you might try making your own marmalade – it really is worth it.

20120119-181132.jpg

Just think, a whole year of great breakfasts!

This entry was posted in AGA cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

