Meat Free Monday – spring, week 02

I can’t believe we’re at week 02 already! I’ve done lots of things since last Monday but not quite got pen to paper (well, fingers to keyboard really but it just doesn’t sound right). Never mind, there’s always to tomorrow.

My Meat Free Monday breakfast was blueberry pancakes with maple syrup – my absolute favourite! Actually, I have a wee confession – I made them yesterday since Sunday always feels like the day to be having a more leisurely breakfast. The pancakes were fab! And since no-one else wanted any, I got to have them today too! Lucky me! Frankly, I could eat blueberry pancakes every day for breakfast.

20120312-161815.jpg

Lunch was spicy falafel with tahini sauce. A slightly different recipe to the falafel I’ve made before but equally good. They were also fried rather than baked but this gave them a really crispy crust which I think is definitely better. I’ve never made tahini sauce before. I usually have tzatziki with falafel but today I had the tahini sauce as well and tried them alongside each other. I ate my falafel in some warm pita bread with lettuce, tomato and a drizzle of the tahini sauce (and then the same with tzatziki!). Really good. I would happily have tzatziki or tahini with them – I guess it would depend what I had in fridge. It made a very generous quantity – enough left for lunch tomorrow which I can assure you is no hardship!

20120312-163657.jpg

Did you think I wasn’t going to tell you about dinner? I afraid had a small technical hitch – computer – nothing to do with my cooking. The spring vegetable stew was lovely – potatoes, carrots, courgettes, asparagus, broad beans, peas and spring onions. The only thing I was missing was some homemade vegetable stock but I don’t think it really mattered – the flavours of the vegetables really shone through and the addition of parsley and tarragon just finished it off brilliantly.

20120313-152820.jpg

The side dish was grilled field mushrooms marinated in red wine, balsamic vinegar, olive oil and chopped onion (shallot in my case since I was only doing one very large mushroom) and there was supposed to be rosemary in there too but I didn’t have any – it somehow got left off the shopping list! I’ve never marinated a mushroom before but you can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be doing it again – it was delicious! I wasn’t quite sure how it was supposed to be eaten since I’d put my spring vegetable stew in a bowl – I’m sure it doesn’t matter – so I just ate it on its own. Grilled field mushrooms (or portabella in my case) would be great on toast (or even in a bun) for lunch.

Dessert was best ever banana bread which was made with rice flour and cornflour rather than regular plain flour so I wasn’t really sure what to expect. In fact, I nearly made banana bread without banana! I was folding in the flour thinking ‘this doesn’t feel right’ when I suddenly realised I hadn’t put in the bananas! Thankfully I had them already mashed so it just meant things didn’t go together in quite the right order. Oooops.

20120313-161337.jpg

The banana bread was light, quite crumbly and had a nice crispy crust. It didn’t need anything on it as it was very moist. I toasted some for breakfast this morning and topped it with Greek yoghurt, banana and honey – what a treat! 🙂

20120313-163024.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

