Meat Free Monday – spring, week 06

Breakfast today (well, elevenses for me ‘cos I’d already had breakfast) was alcohol-free piña colada AND I had some nice ripe pineapple to hand, unlike when I made the strawberry and banana smoothie! It’s just made from coconut milk, pineapple chunks and regular milk with a little bit of sugar and it was nice – not thick like a smoothie, but perfectly fine.

I made the packed lunch option – spicy tomato and bean salad – on Saturday since I had all the ingredients and nothing for lunch. It was fab! Butter beans and very ripe, flavourful tomatoes with a delicious spicy, garlicky dressing. I had it for lunch on Saturday and Sunday it was soooo good – in my humble opinion, of course.

20120410-162810.jpg

So, having made the Meat Free Monday packed lunch option on Saturday, what was I going to have for Meat Free Monday lunch on Monday? Ah well, there is always another lunch option (which was spaghetti omelette) but I liked the sound of the ‘snack’ which was spiced pea dip. It was made with frozen peas (cooked first), Greek yoghurt, chilli, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice and mint then whizzed in the blender and served with some toasted pita bread. A really yummy alternative to hummus and I think probably much lower in fat which means it’s good for me. 🙂

20120410-164207.jpg

Dinner was super vegetable salad from Paul McCartney (not literally, only the recipe!). Lovely, healthy steamed vegetables with lettuce, roasted cherry tomatoes and tofu with a crunchy, herby coating. This is a great recipe to use whatever veg are in season and then drizzle the dressing over them when they’re still warm – yum! This is not my first time cooking tofu but I think I may have sent my personal shopper to get the wrong kind (my fault, not his) because it kept breaking up when I lifted it into the pan. Luckily there are a few more tofu recipes later in the book so I’ll get some practice cooking with it.

20120410-170814.jpg

I’m sorry you’re not getting my thoughts on the almond cake because I didn’t quite get around to making it – we had a big box of home made meringues to munch our way through. Oooooo, what a difficult job that was!

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

