Sunday brunch – huevos rancheros

Technically, this is tomorrow’s breakfast from the Meat Free Monday cookbook but today felt like the right day to have it. Besides, my breakfast is vegetarian every day. Before I say anymore, I have to tell you, it was a delicious brunch!

When I was getting all the ingredients I needed for Meat Free Monday, I picked up a packet of flour tortillas and I read the ingredients list on the back of the packet. I could not believe the list of unpronounceable words – not to mention E numbers – so I decided I would make my own. I had a quick look on YouTube where there is a good selection of videos on how to do this. It really is very simple and takes less time than going to the shop to buy them. No yeast required – just flour, oil, salt and water. You need to roll them very thin and it only takes a couple of minutes to cook each one. I made them yesterday and this morning they were like cardboard so I dampened them with some water, put them on a plate, covered them with foil and gave them five minutes in the top oven of the AGA (hot!). Result – lovely soft flour tortillas!

20120422-191606.jpg

Don’t they look good!

I also made my own refried beans using a recipe from Simply Recipes. This is a really easy recipe. I did soak the beans prior to cooking since I don’t have a pressure cooker. I also made these yesterday and this morning they were a solid mass – luckily I’d kept some of the cooking liquid to loosen the mixture. A quick zap in the microwave and they were ready to go!

So huevos rancheros – tortilla, refried beans, sprinkling of cheddar, tomato sauce and a fried egg. FAB!

If you go by the recipe in the book, you only need to make the tomato sauce from scratch but I think making the tortillas and the beans really was worth it and they certainly weren’t labour intensive. I hope you’ll think about having huevos rancheros next time you’re having Sunday brunch. 🙂

20120422-193732.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

