Meat Free Monday – spring, week 08

I’m afraid I was a bit naughty – I posted the Meat Free Monday breakfast yesterday. I thought the huevos rancheros deserved their own space so you’ll find them in ‘Sunday brunch – huevos rancheros’.

The packed lunch option for today was soooooo yummy. In fact, today was the third time I’ve made it! You know when you spot something in a cookbook/food magazine and think that looks really good …… well, for me, the carrot and hummus crunch on sourdough (by Nick Sandler) was one of those. The grated carrot used to top the open sandwich was sautéed in a little olive oil with garlic, chilli and caraway seeds. It’s left to cool while you make the rest. Toast some sourdough, then spread it with some Greek yoghurt, followed by the hummus and then the grated carrot mix. Finally, sprinkle some chopped coriander over the top. And then enjoy! Mmmmmmm.

20120423-201542.jpg

If you don’t fancy the packed lunch, you could always have the alternative – good old fashioned macaroni cheese.

I skipped the snack – Laban bil bayd (eggs in yoghurt garlic sauce) – only because I had no room left after the lunch and, in the interest of my waistline, I didn’t make the biscotti either. Sorry.

Dinner was an asparagus tray bake. When I hear ‘tray bake’ I always think of a rectangular sponge cake with icing but thankfully (only ‘cos I didn’t fancy cake for dinner) it was a lovely, light puff pastry tart! I could eat asparagus every night when they’re in season. Lots of delicious asparagus spears laid on a bed of puff pastry which has been covered with a mixture of creme fraîche, egg, Dijon mustard and Parmesan, then baked. Delicious.

20120423-204135.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

