happy eggs

Earlier this week I was lucky enough to be given some eggs from some happy chickens! I wanted to make something where they stood out rather than use them for baking. I decided on tuna niçoise. I like to make a deconstructed niçoise salad so you can as much or as little of the different ingredients as you like. I normally put in tuna (no surprise there!), hard-boiled eggs (well, kind of squidgy in the middle is how I like them), little gem or something similar, green beans, new potatoes, tomatoes, anchovies, red onion and some olives BUT – you knew there was a but coming – I had some spring onions which needed eating so I used them instead of the red onion, and I had no olives. I also used marinated anchovies from the fishmonger – I suspect it should probably be salted ones – but I l-o-v-e the marinated ones! In fact, it was only good timing that meant there were actually some left for the salad! I made some red wine vinaigrette and served it on the side. I love this kind of meal – and it can be multiplied up or down really easily depending on how many you have for dinner! I think I prefer the salad with red onion – my spring onions were quite hot – but otherwise it tasted lovely. The eggs were particularly good. 🙂

20120427-130713.jpg

This entry was posted in fish, mains and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to happy eggs

  1. You can see that they are happy eggs just from the wonderful colour.

Leave a Reply

