Meat Free Monday – spring, week 13 – really!

Yes, it’s here – my Meat Free Monday dinner on Tuesday! I was out all day today so not only is Meat Free Monday on Tuesday, I’m only doing the dinner – shame on me.

Cauliflower is one of my favourite vegetables so I was really looking forward to the Sicilian Cauliflower Pasta. I couldn’t get wholewheat mafalda corta (the recommended pasta) so I used wholewheat fusilli instead. Cooked cauliflower was added to the sautéed onion, garlic, bay leaf and dried chilli flakes along with the raisins, pine nuts and sun-dried tomato paste. Even adding some of the cauliflower water I found that I needed to add some more tomato paste to make it more like a sauce. Stir in the cooked pasta, check the seasoning and finally add some lemon juice and chopped parsley. Sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan*.

I’m not sure whether this dish would be everyone’s cup of tea, but I enjoyed the combination of ingredients, especially the sweetness given by the raisins.

20120529-200546.jpg

*vegetarian Parmesan

I can’t believe that I’ve reached the end of the spring Mondays already but I’m really looking forward to beginning the summer menus next week.

This entry was posted in mains, Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

