Meat Free Monday – summer, week 03

Tonight’s dinner of papaya salad felt right as it had been a lovely warm day. I wasn’t sure how good the papaya would be but I was pleasantly surprised. Sometimes the texture of the papayas we’re able to buy here isn’t very good or they can be a bit flavourless. You won’t be surprised to hear that I didn’t use the method given in the book for this salad. I chopped up the garlic and chilli and mixed with the sugar and lime juice. Then I steamed my French beans very briefly (no yard long beans here) and halted the cooking by putting them in some iced water. When you’re ready to assemble the salad, cut the beans in half, the tomato and papaya (peeled and deseeded) into similar sized pieces and place them all in a serving bowl. Pour the sugar and lime juice mixture over, mix it up and mash everything together a little. I also added some coriander. Have some little gem lettuce leaves (washed and dried) ready and serve the salad inside the leaves. No forks and knifes to wash – but you will need some paper napkins! I really enjoyed the combination of papaya, tomato and beans but I felt that the addition of the sugar to the lime juice was unnecessary – it needed to be sharp to contrast with the sweetness of the ingredients.

20120619-081416.jpg

I was out at lunchtime yesterday but will definitely be having the packed lunch – asparagus, egg and cress sandwich – this week. I might even have the other lunch option – yellow courgette and garlic bruschetta – one day too!

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meat Free Monday – summer, week 03

  1. This sounds really good. I love papaya in salads. I must buy it more often.

Leave a Reply

