Meat Free Monday – summer, week 04

Well, today I am going to be on a train when I would normally eat dinner so I’m having the meat free monday dinner for my lunch! Refried bean tacos, yummy. Almost a store cupboard meal – all I needed to buy was an avocado. A ripe one for today’s lunch? Mmmmm. That was a bit of a challenge despite them being labelled ‘ripe and ready to eat’! I had my own refried beans in the freezer left over from the huevos rancheros. Admittedly when I opened the container they didn’t look great but they reheated perfectly. I didn’t have any taco shells, so I used what I had – corn chips. The taco shells always break into tiny little pieces when I eat them and then the filling spills all over the place (usually over me) …… you get the picture? So corn chips it was and my tacos were more like nachos. I sautéed an onion, added the beans and chopped tomatoes and heated through. I then put this mixture on a bed of corn chips, sprinkled over some grated cheese and popped it under the grill until the cheese was golden and bubbling (some of the corn chips got s-l-i-g-h-t-l-y too brown 😦 but I won’t show you those!!) Some sour cream, avocado and a bit of lime on the side and a bottle of chilli sauce to hand if you fancy (I did) and lunch was as quick as that. It was very yummy. And if you don’t have any refried beans in your freezer like I did, don’t worry, a tin is fine.

20120625-143109.jpg

ps – I promise to do better next week 🙂

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

