Meat Free Monday – summer, week 05

Did you think I’d forgotten? Absolutely not – it’s just that sometimes life gets a bit busy and there doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day to do what needs to be done. I did have meat free monday on monday this week but just didn’t have time to write about it yesterday. I know, I promised to do better this week. Well, I did – I made two of the dishes for the day – the packed lunch and dinner.

We had cannellini bean and rosemary ‘hummus’ (with some toasted pita bread for dipping) as a pre-dinner snack. I had bought some carrots to dip but I completely forgot about them! I used 1-1/2 cans of cannellini beans as it was a bit on the thin side with one can. To the beans I added the juice of a whole lemon, some natural yoghurt, garlic and some very finely chopped rosemary and then whizzed it all in the blender (adjust the seasoning if necessary). It made a pleasant change from regular hummus and I’m sure it must be lighter in calories but if you asked me, I would say I preferred the spiced pea dip from spring, week 06.

20120703-200511.jpg

So now we get to the dinner – little gem, soft-boiled egg, roast tomatoes, capers and Parmesan dressing. Phew, that was a long one! This recipe is first class! Tomatoes roasted with baby leeks, homemade croutons, soft-boiled eggs (I remember trying to cut soft-boiled eggs recently and got yolk all over the place so I gave these a l-i-t-t-l-e longer) all laid on a bed of rocket and little gem lettuce. The dressing with the capers was particularly delicious. This salad had lots of interesting flavours and textures and I will definitely be making it again.

20120703-202105.jpg

I loved everything about this dish! 🙂

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

