Meat Free Monday – summer, week 07

Summer here yet? No, not quite, but I made some lovely summer berry muffins this morning which definitely made me feel a little more summery. I didn’t quite manage to make them for breakfast (because I forgot to buy buttermilk and had to nip out and get some) but they were ready in time for morning coffee. I measured everything out last night so that all I had to do this morning was mix the dry and the wet ingredients together then stir in the berries. I used blueberries and raspberries because I love the way the blueberries pop and turn the muffins a lovely deep inky blue inside (and, very conveniently, they came in a 200g pack – exactly the quantity I required!). I added a little milk to the mix because it was too dry with just the buttermilk, egg and and vanilla. I managed to fill 11 muffin cases, rather than 8 and I had to bake them for a wee bit longer too – about 25 minutes – every oven is different. I took a some to the friends I was meeting for lunch and have a few left which I’ve popped in the freezer for another time – one muffin a day is quite enough for my waistline. I know exactly where the expression ‘muffin-top’ comes from!

20120716-200346.jpg

I love pizza so I was really looking forward to tonight’s dinner. You have to make the base – no shortcuts here – and it was really easy. The only thing that puzzled me was why was there egg in the pizza dough? I’ve never seen that before but since I’m following the recipe, I’ll go along with it. My kitchen wasn’t very warm today but the dough doubled in size in an hour no prob. My electric oven is not as big as my AGA oven so I just rolled it out to roughly the size of my tray. In fact I put the tray in the oven to heat and put the dough on non-stick baking parchment so I could just slide the pizza onto the hot tray when it was ready for the oven. I cooked the roasted veg earlier (aubergine, courgette, peppers, mushrooms, thyme and garlic) so all that was left for me to do was assemble the pizza. I used a small amount of homemade pasta sauce (tomato) over the base instead of the sun-dried tomato paste, then covered it with the roasted veg. I also put some halved cherry tomatoes on in place of the sun-dried ones. Just a personal preference. I also used thyme with the veg for the same reason – I like it better than rosemary. The recipe uses gruyere cheese rather than mozzarella or Parmesan which is a nice change. We both really enjoyed the pizza. I would try it again making the base without the egg. I also prefer pizza with a thinner crust so next time I’ll use less dough or a bigger tray. 🙂

20120716-203719.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meat Free Monday – summer, week 07

  1. Srah Allan says:

    I love the muffin cases, where do you buy them? thanks, Sarah x

Leave a Reply

