Meat Free Monday – summer, week 11

Refreshed from my holiday, let’s get back to business – meat free monday! Today I had the packed lunch option which was a Greek salad. Very simple and healthy which is great because I need to watch my calories (not before time let me tell you). So, from now on I may will be looking for a low calorie route to make my meat free meals – mmmm, perhaps I should just have a smaller portion.

20120813-145233.jpg

I love Greek salad and have it quite often for lunch or dinner. Some nice chunks of cucumber, sliced beefsteak tomatoes, thinly sliced shallot, lots of fresh parsley and olives. Ooooops – no olives! Where was my brain when I was shopping? Obviously still on holiday. And all that fish? No effect whatsoever! I purposely didn’t buy beefsteak tomatoes as they can be a bit flavourless – I used some very tasty smaller ones, quartered. Instead of a few glugs of extra virgin olive oil I used the tiny bit of vinaigrette I had leftover from the weekend. Waste not, want not is what my mother used to say. 🙂

And how did it taste? Excellent.

And now for dinner. Paella Verduras (recipe from JosĂ© Pizarro ). I’ve prepared all the veg – broad beans (beautifully shelled), French beans blanched and refreshed, courgettes sautĂ©ed, tomatoes skinned and chopped, peas and runner beans blanched and cooled. I decided not to buy asparagus from Peru (put in the runner beans instead) and thankfully the recipe called for artichokes from a jar! I’ve sautĂ©ed the onion and peppers, added the garlic, sweet pimentĂłn and tomatoes and left it at this stage until we’ve decided what time we’d like to eat so here’s what it looks like so far (and I halved the recipe) …..

20120813-180555.jpg

And the finished dish …..

20120813-210851.jpg

It was really delicious – thank you JosĂ©! I didn’t get the crust on the bottom because I used a non-stick pan but no matter, it was still good. Paella pan next time. All that was left for me to do was add the rice, stock, saffron and the vegetables and let it all simmer away until the rice is cooked to your liking. It must give you at least three of your five-a-day. Half the recipe was supposed to feed three but it would easily feed four, which means there’s leftovers for me tomorrow night – yipppeeee!

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meat Free Monday – summer, week 11

  1. christine says:

    Sounds yummy. On the menu next time I visit?
    Christine xx

Leave a Reply

