Meat Free Monday – autumn, week 01

Oh gosh, I’m late again! I’m so sorry but I was away – again! But I was a little ahead of myself and had meat free Saturday! I know, not quite the same, but it worked for me. I only managed to make the dinner recipe – aubergine casserole with pomegranate. A lovely recipe from Maggie Beer – Australian cook, author and restaurateur.

I have a larder cupboard full of lots of interesting things – Maggie Beer’s Verjuice being one of them and Pomegranate Molasses being another. You need both of these for this recipe but sadly Maggie’s Verjuice doesn’t seem to be imported to the UK by anyone at the moment (if you know different, please let me know) but I bought a bottle when I was at Ballymaloe last year along with some pomegranate molasses. Pomegranate molasses you should be able to buy from a Middle Eastern grocer but in the absence of verjuice there seems to be a selection of alternatives available on the internet – you may have to experiment.

20120904-195333.jpg

Back to the recipe for the aubergine casserole. I cooked the green lentils according to the recipe and decided to char grill the aubergine slices rather than fry (for the sake of my health – aubergines soak up oil like a sponge!). The aubergines are then placed on the tomato/onion/verjuice mixture along with the green lentils and then I drizzled the pomegranate molasses over the top. I covered the dish with tin foil and baked it in the oven. It didn’t require the full 1-3/4 hours – 1-1/4 was enough but my oven is quite hot. I used feta instead of quark because that was what I had. The result was delicious. I really liked the taste and texture of the green lentils and I’m sure I’ll make this again.

20120905-113918.jpg

This entry was posted in Ballymaloe Cookery School, mains, Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

