Meat Free Monday – autumn, week 03

I hesitate to say it, because I always seem to be doing things slightly differently, but this week I am going to deviate from the Meat Free Monday cookbook completely. Just for this week, I promise! At the weekend I was at my favourite Indian restaurant for dinner, Mother India’s Café, and I always have the same thing – aloo gobi with green beans and chana dal, along with some rice and a chapatti. I’m feeling hungry just thinking about it 🙂 …… anyway, I hadn’t looked at this week’s Meat Free Monday menu until today and guess what? This Monday’s dinner is the very same one that I ate at the weekend! So I’m still having a Meat Free Monday but I’m making a frittata instead.

20120918-160251.jpg

red onion, red pepper and feta frittata

Sauté a couple of red onions (sliced in half moons) gently in some olive oil until they’re nice and soft, but not brown, then set aside. Do the same with a couple of red peppers but add some crushed garlic to the pan a few minutes before they’re ready. Mix the onions, peppers and garlic together and leave to cool. Break 80-100g feta cheese into reasonable size piece and set aside. When you’re ready to cook your frittata crack 6 happy eggs into a jug and mix together. Tip in the onions, pepper, garlic and feta and stir gently. Season to taste. I use a 9″ sauté pan. Heat some olive oil and pour all the egg mixture into the pan and shoogle it about a bit so that the top is flattish. Now you can cook it all gently on the hob, turning it over halfway (why you’re best with flattish top) or you can do what I did and pop it in the oven at 180 deg C for about 10-15 minutes or until it’s cooked to your liking. Serve with a lovely tomato and rocket salad. Enjoy.

If you don’t have enough time to let the vegetables cool, just beat the eggs in the jug, add the feta and season, then pour into the sauté pan and continue as above.

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

