Meat Free Monday – autumn, week 09

I’m sorry I wasn’t here last week – I’m sure the Thai vegetable curry would have been delicious and I’m definitely going to try it – but not tonight! Tonight I had a delicious chickpea tagine with harissa for dinner. The tagine was full of lovely things – chickpeas, sweet potatoes, carrots, celery, courgettes, red pepper, onion and tomatoes. It was really easy to make. All I had to do was sauté the onion then add the garlic, ginger, saffron, cumin, coriander and cinnamon. Cook for short time before adding the tinned tomatoes and the veg (cut so they will all cook in the same length of time and probably not as large as I cut mine) then add the stock. I also added the honey at this point and then simmered the whole lot until the vegetables were ready – about 40 minutes for me. Serve with couscous, coriander and Harissa. I only did one teeny little thing that wasn’t in the recipe – I added about a tablespoon of tomato purée when I added the stock. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I’m not sure how it’ll freeze but I’m going to try cos there’s heaps left over – yummy!

20121029-193837.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

