Meat Free Monday – autumn, week 11

Well, what can I say – I wasn’t here at all last week. Not just late – totally absent! So, where was I? Dare I say? OK, I was sunning myself beside a swimming pool in Tenerife! Yep, the whole week, just lazing around on a sun lounger. Bliss! 🙂 I’ve never been away at this time of year before so this wee holiday was a real treat and (not that I want to rub it in) the weather was fantastic!

20121112-201835.jpg

Now that I’m home I’m feeling very cold – although not as cold as I was landing at the airport wearing a pair of shorts and finding it was about 5 degrees C! Silly me.

I had hoped to make one of last week’s dishes before I left but time just ran out. Today there were lots of lovely dishes to choose from – roasted mushrooms, tomatoes and pine nuts, spicy burrito with salsa and guacamole or roasted butternut squash with pine nuts and goats cheese but I decided to make the aubergine, potato and pepper stew. I did lots of eating last week (and had one or two glasses of wine) so I’m trying to cut down ……… just a little bit. 🙂

Firstly, sauté some onion, celery and garlic then add some chopped courgette, red pepper and aubergine, followed by potato, dried oregano, tinned tomatoes and stock. I bought some dried oregano in Tenerife – what a stroke of luck – you can tell my Meat Free Mondays are never far from my mind! Simmer until all the veggies are cooked (depends on how big you cut them) add a can of butter beans and some kalamata olives and let it simmer for another few minutes. Remember to check the seasoning. When it’s ready to serve add some crumbled feta, toasted pine nuts and chopped parsley. How did it taste? Really good. And, whilst I’m not sure he was looking forward to it, Graeme enjoyed it too!

20121112-213713.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

