Meat Free Monday – autumn, week 12

So, here I am at week 12 of autumn – one more week and we’ll be into winter! I can’t believe I’m three-quarters of the way through the book. So, for week 12 I’m actually going to make the puy lentils and roasted red peppers with goat’s cheese from week 10. Week 12’s mushroom, mascarpone and polenta bake and baked penne with dolcelatte and radicchio are both a bit high in fat for me so I’m making the dish I fancied making the week I was away. I hope nobody minds.

Roast the red peppers in a hot oven for about half an hour then put them in a bowl and cover with cling film until cool enough to handle. I cut them in half and deseeded them prior to roasting so all that was left to do after roasting was peel off the skins and cut them in strips. Cook the lentils according to the packet but put in a whole red onion and some herbs (parsley/oregano/thyme or whatever you have). When the lentils are ready, drain off the water, discard the herbs and put the lentils in a bowl. Chop the cooked onion and put it in the bowl with the lentils along with some chopped sun-dried tomatoes (I had some semi-dried cherry tomatoes so used those). Crumbled goat’s cheese is stirred in while the lentils are still warm and then seasoned. Make the lemon juice and olive oil dressing and pour it over the lentils. I stirred the roasted red peppers into the lentil mixture but the recipe suggests arranging them on the plate. You choose. Check the seasoning and sprinkle over some fresh parsley and thyme (all I had). The only thing I would say is that some of my cheese melted from the heat of the lentils which just made the lentils stick together a bit – it didn’t make any difference to the taste – it was really yummy. 🙂

20121119-193111.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

