Happy 2013

Christmas has come and gone, along with my cold and also the visitors. We had really lovely day and I didn’t overcook the roast beef (always a possibility when you have the fizz before you cook the main course! And now 2013 is here, am I going to make any new year resolutions? I think perhaps not. Usually I say to myself that I’m going to try to cook something new every week and I think I actually managed to do that last year. Amazing! I don’t make dessert as often as I might so maybe this year will be the year of the dessert as well, of course, as my Meat Free Mondays (or whatever day it happens to be).

I started the year off quite well by making chocolate mousse yesterday. I say quite well because it almost didn’t happen. My first two attempts ended up in the bin and it was third time lucky. Three bars of Lindt chocolate and half a dozen organic eggs later I had three portions of mousse! Actually mocha mousse, not chocolate mousse, but who cares – it was divine.

What happened? My chocolate seized twice! I think the first time my eggs were too cold when I added them to the chocolate and the second time perhaps it was the chocolate that was too cold. I decided to change the recipe slightly for my third attempt. I put a (short) measure of espresso in a bowl and added the chopped dark chocolate to it. Zapped it for 30 seconds in the microwave and then stirred the mixture until the chocolate had melted. Then I added two egg yolks (gradually) and left it to the side while I whisked up the two egg whites. Because I had 70% dark chocolate and espresso I added two level 15ml spoons of caster sugar to the egg whites and whisked them to soft peak stage. I added one tablespoon of the egg whites to the chocolate mixture to loosen it a little and then gently folded in the rest of the egg whites, trying to keep in as much air as possible. The 2 egg/100g chocolate combination made three mousses (or mice!) but my dishes were quite large.

I’m glad I persevered (nothing much else to do on January 1st is there?) as it was so light and chocolatey but with a lovely coffee edge to it. Serve it with some lots of double cream poured over. Two down, one to go – we may have to toss a coin tomorrow to see who gets it! 🙂

20130102-194811.jpg

Here’s to a happy, healthy 2013 (with lots more dessert) – cheers!

This entry was posted in desserts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 2013

  1. I am looking forward to the desserts.

Leave a Reply

