Meat Free Monday – winter, week 05

Yep, I’m still working in 2012! When I saw a recipe by Skye Gyngell I thought, mmmmm, I quite fancy trying this – so I did. Chickpea curry. Whilst the recipe called for 600g dried chickpeas I thought 500g (amount in the pack) would do but I didn’t adjust any of the other quantities. The chickpeas required an overnight soak before being cooked. When they’re ready, drain and put to one side. Meanwhile gently roast the spices then grind using a pestle and mortar. Heat some oil and sauté the onions. When they’re nice and soft, add some chopped coriander, garlic and red chilli together with the spices. After that you were supposed to add the carrots and cook for 10 mins but I found that the spices were catching on the bottom of the pan so I added the tomatoes, maple syrup, lime juice and soy sauce then it was supposed to be ready in 15 minutes. My carrots took forever to cook as no idea of size was given. Eventually, once they had cooked, I added the chickpeas. I didn’t add the butter at the end.

20130114-143033.jpg

Slightly different curry flavour with the addition of the maple syrup, lime juice and soy sauce, but very enjoyable nonetheless. It says ‘serves 4’ but it would easily feed twice that so you’ll have lots of nice wee pots in the freezer for nights that you can’t be bothered don’t feel like cooking. 🙂

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

