Meat Free Monday – winter, week 08

Yesterday I made the packed lunch option – black-eyed bean casserole with coriander – but had it for my dinner. I had to remove it from the kitchen in the afternoon because I was nibbling …… it was really very good. I even remembered to soak my black-eyed beans on Sunday! It was very simple to make. Cook the beans according to the instructions on the packet, drain and keep aside. Next, I sautéed the onion, garlic, chilli and carrot together until carrots were almost cooked then added the lovely smokey, sweet paprika followed by the tinned tomatoes, the black-eyed beans and the sweetcorn. I simmered it for about 10 minutes, slightly less time than was suggested but my beans were well cooked. Rather than serving sour cream mixed with lime juice and fresh coriander on the side I used some 0% fat Greek yoghurt, just on its own. I also made a salsa – some chopped avocado, red onion, coriander and chilli with a good squeeze of lime juice – and I thought they worked well together. I’m already looking forward to the other three lunches (or dinners) I have in the freezer.

20130122-193757.jpg

This entry was posted in Meat Free Mondays, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meat Free Monday – winter, week 08

  1. Sarah Allan says:

    the taster you kindly gave me was delicious so will try this, thanks, Sarah x

Leave a Reply

