waste not, want not

I know, I know – it should be meat free Monday up there in the title but I had some leftovers that were too good not to eat! It was a meat free day, just not cooked from the book.

At the weekend I cooked some sea bass which was served on a bed of fennel cooked in a tomato sauce. There was enough of the fennel and tomato sauce left for someone to have with pasta (hopefully me, I thought!). I had it tonight with some linguine. Delicious!

What you need:

4 fennel bulbs, quartered
6 cloves of garlic
400g tin of chopped tomatoes
a (small) glass of white wine
some black olives, stones removed
1 tblspn balsamic vinegar
oregano
olive oil

Heat some olive oil and cook the fennel until it is golden – about 15 minutes. Add the garlic and stir for a minute or so before adding the white wine, same glass but this time with water, the tomatoes and oregano. My oregano plant died of frostbite a while ago but luckily I brought back some lovely dried oregano from Tenerife which I used. Every morning whilst I was in Tenerife I had tomato halves baked with a sliver of local cheese and a sprinkling of oregano on top. Yum! A couple of them on some grainy toast and I was set up for the day. Anyway, back to the fennel. Bring the fennel up to the boil and then put it in the bottom oven of the AGA for about an hour or until tender. The timing really depends on how large your bulbs of fennel are. Remove the fennel from the oven and add the balsamic vinegar and the olives before checking to see how much seasoning it requires.

20130210-142010.jpg

I had a little fresh parsley in the fridge which I added to my pasta but you could also add basil. I cut the pieces of fennel to have with the pasta but served them whole with the fish.

I also had a meat free lunch but I’m afraid it wasn’t vegetarian. Every other Saturday lunchtime we have a delicious selection of cheese bought from George Mewes. I adore cheese. Mr Mewes stocks a selection of amazing cheese together with artisan breads and chutneys, jams, crackers, etc. – it really is cheese heaven! We had a little bit of Brie de Meaux Dongé (AOC)* leftover and I’m afraid I just had to eat it. I toasted a couple of slices of the lovely sourdough bread I had also bought and spread them, very generously, with the Brie and topped it with some very tasty cherry tomatoes and rocket. Mmmmmmmmm. What can I say – it tasted divine.

20130210-144317.jpg

* made with animal rennet

This entry was posted in mains, snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

