life in the fast lane

Won the lottery? Moved to the south of France? Nope. Along with half the planet, I have been on The Fast Diet. It is the best diet I have ever followed because actually I don’t really feel like I’m on a diet at all – it’s more a way of life. I watched the BBC Horizon programme (Eat, Fast, Live Longer) on YouTube at the tail end of last year and was amazed at Dr Michael Mosley’s discoveries. After Christmas I decided to give it a try in the hope of losing the extra pounds I have been lugging around since my stay at Ballymaloe! On a fast day I eat only 500 calories (a quarter of the recommended daily calorie intake for women) and I do this on two days of the week (preferably not consecutive) and eat normally the rest of the week. I can even change my fast day if I’m going out for dinner or I feel I can’t fast on my chosen day. I also find it easier to have my fast days when I’m not in the house and around food all the time.

This way of eating really does give me a good reminder about portion size as I need to know the quantity of food I’m eating on my fast days so I can calculate the number of calories. I don’t count calories on the other days but I think in the back of my mind I’m much more aware of what I’m eating and tend towards smaller portions. My diet is pretty healthy anyway (most of the time 😉) but portion control has always been my downfall. Protein and vegetables are my best friends on fast days. Personally, I found soup kept me going during the days when the weather was really cold but now that its becoming a little warmer (who am I kidding!) I am happy to have lots of salads. I am amazed what 25g of salad leaves looks like! And you know what, if I really am desperate to have some chocolate/crisps/whatever I only need to wait until the next day by which time the desire has usually passed. Some days I have my 500 calories in two meals – breakfast and dinner – other days I need lunch too. When I get to the weight I want to be, all I have to do is have one fast day a week to maintain. Easy peasy!

Yes. It really has been easy peasy. My weight has dropped a steady 1lb a week since I began this way of eating. I can’t tell you how happy I am. 😃

So having watched the BBC Horizon programme and bought the book – The Fast Diet by Dr Michael Mosley and Mimi Spencer – there follows, of course, the recipe book by Mimi Spencer with Dr Sarah Schenker. As it has recently dropped through my letterbox, I’ll let you know what I think of the recipes I make. I will also be posting a few of my own recipes which I’ve been using over the last few months.

For the all the additional health benefits to be gained from The Fast Diet and how to do it, I refer you to Dr Michael Mosley and Mimi Spencer.

This entry was posted in the fast diet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to life in the fast lane

  1. Well done you! I know several people that have been doing it and say that it works for them too. I noticed that the diet book and recipe book are topping the best seller list too. Looking forward to some of those recipes.

Leave a Reply

