spicing it up

I’m just back from a week in the sun – lucky me! Yes, I know, it was hot at home too but there would have been no lying by the pool drinking cava at 4pm 5pm in my back garden for sure! On Monday morning I tentatively stood on the scales – I had no MM days while I was away – and found the reading to be a little higher than I might have liked. So back to my 5:2 straight away! No messing.

I love spicy food so this red pepper and tomato soup is right up my street! It’s a great low calorie meal for when you’re following the fast diet especially on a cold day. Not too many ingredients and it freezes well so no excuses for not having something ready.

What you need …..

Normally, I would just say four red peppers but for calculating calories, I weighed everything – so its 600g red peppers (weight after preparing), 250g tomatoes (skinned and chopped), 50g onion, 4 cloves garlic, a red chilli (or more if you’re feeling brave but remember they too have calories – but not many), veg stock 750mls and 1 tsp olive oil.

First, put on the oven to 180 deg C (fan) then cut the peppers in half and remove seeds and stalk. Place cut side down on a baking tray covered with baking parchment (so you don’t have to spend ages cleaning the tray later) and roast for about half an hour until the skins are dark. Now, put the peppers in a bowl, cover it with cling wrap and leave them for about 10 minutes before skinning.

While the peppers are roasting, heat the oil in a pan and sweat the (chopped) onion, chilli and garlic. If you find it’s catching, just add a little water, and sweat until they’re soft. Add the tomatoes, the roasted peppers and about half the stock and simmer for 20 minutes. Whizz it with the stick blender and then add enough stock to make it up to just over a litre. Don’t forget to taste as you may need to add some salt and pepper. This will give you 4 portions of 250ml coming in at a very tasty 85 calories a portion.

I totally forgot to take a picture so I’ll leave you with one from my holiday instead ….. just until my next MM day. 😉

20130612-183647.jpg

This entry was posted in 5:2 diet, lunch, soup, the fast diet, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

