a courgette a day

Keeps the doctor away? Well, it is one of your five a day. It seems that once they appear, they grow pretty quickly and the more you pick them, the more they grow. Does that make sense? I hope so. Sometimes the green ones get hidden behind a leaf and so I’ve picked a few whoppers! Whoppers only by comparison to the others I’ve picked but the bigger ones are great cooked on the barbecue – drizzle with olive oil, season well and sprinkle a bit of rosemary over. Mmmmm!

IMG_3147.JPG

These were the first courgettes we picked – aren’t they lovely? I made a warm tomato and courgette salsa which I served on toasted sourdough with the flowers on the side. I stuffed the flowers with ricotta cheese mixed with basil and lemon zest, dipped in tempura batter and then deep fried. And were those deep fried flowers good? I’m afraid the word ‘good’ doesn’t really cut it here – they were amazing!

IMG_0295.JPG

When we replaced our barbecue last year I really did wonder what we might use the gas ring that was on the side for, but now I know – no smelly kitchen when deep frying the courgette flowers! It does, of course, need to be a beautiful sunny day with absolutely no rain in the forecast as deep frying and rain do not mix.

This entry was posted in mains, Uncategorized, vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

