happy new year

As the beginning of 2015 loomed, I’m afraid I was ‘feet up on the sofa with a box of tissues’. Struck down by the sniffles. I’ve had the flu jab so I’m absolutely positive  I’m fairly confident I don’t think it’s that. Heavens, I refused fizz to toast the new year’s arrival! I must be sick!

New year resolutions? Cook more. Well, I’m always cooking so what I usually say at the beginning of the year is that I’m going to cook/bake one new recipe each week. Let’s see if I can stick to it. I’d like to make more bread – I could easily make a loaf in the time it takes me to go to a shop where I can get “proper” bread. I don’t bake a huge amount so perhaps more baking and I usually make dessert at the weekends so maybe I’ll try out a few new recipes there too. AND write about them!!!

At the tail end of last year I was in London and enjoyed an amazing meal at Ottolenghi and so this year I am also going to work my way through his books – yes, I have them all! The recipes contain some interesting ingredients which I thought might be a wee bit tricky to obtain but they are available online, direct from Ottolenghi. How fab is that!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c7c/20144664/files/2015/01/img_3636.jpg

On the same trip we also ate at Honey & Co., a lovely little restaurant in Warren Street. We had a delicious meal here too and I bought their book (well there’s a surprise!). On the way to the station I realised we had only paid for the meal and not the book! Yikes! How embarrassing! Phone almost out of charge but I managed a quick e-mail to apologise and payment followed swiftly after. Phew!  Anyway, I will be working from their book too. In fact I have a large pile of books which, until Christmas, was sitting on the kitchen table …

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c7c/20144664/files/2015/01/img_3683.jpg

… and seems to have made its way back there!

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2015 with lots of delicious food!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to happy new year

  1. I hope you do manage to achieve your goals in the kitchen and that you manage to write more posts. I am with you on that one, I want to try to write more posts.I am not sure I will manage it. I like that pile of books. I have just bought a couple of the Hairy Bikers Dieters books because that is where we are at in this house! My waist is ever expanding. Happy New Year lovely Caroline.

Leave a Reply

