have your cake and eat it

You might be forgiven for thinking I’ve already failed in my New Year resolution to make something new every week but actually I haven’t – I just haven’t told you about it. And several dishes I’ve made I’ve forgotten to photograph.  Oh dear.  I blame my cold for taking over my head.  I baked a new cake from Bread, Cake, Doughnut, Pudding by Justin Gellatly. There are lots of delicious looking things to bake – funnily enough they are breads, cakes, doughnuts and puddings! The first one I’ve chosen is Justin’s ginger cake. Firstly, because Graeme is quite partial to a bit of gingerbread (or cake!) and secondly because I love ginger too! It’s a fairly large cake – 26cm – but don’t let that put you off. We (all two of us) managed to work our way through it. Quite easily as a matter of fact. I did freeze a couple pieces so I’ll let you know how they taste when we’ve eaten them. It’s always useful to be able to freeze baking for when any unexpected visitors drop by. I didn’t have the correct size of springform tin  but I did find a 26cm round loose bottom cake tin. As the cake mix is quite runny I had to improvise. I put tin foil inside my tin then put the loose bottom base back in to make it leakproof (hopefully) and lined the base and sides with non-stick baking parchment. Perfect. The recipe instructions are excellent and the ginger cake turned out beautifully. Great flavour and a wonderful squidgy texture with lovely little nuggets of stem ginger to bite into!

2015/01/img_3694.jpg

I made the cider and caramel sauce suggested alongside the recipe but I’m afraid that, for me, ginger cake needs butter. Spread nice and thick. Teeth marks are good here. Mmmmm, yummy!  What more can I say.

This entry was posted in baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to have your cake and eat it

  1. Arielle says:

    Oh yum ❤ it looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

