Saturday afternoon in the kitchen

I really enjoy a Saturday afternoon in the kitchen, taking a bit more time preparing dinner and usually making something for dessert too. So this weekend we had something from Ottolenghi: The Cookbook by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi (one of the books from the pile on the kitchen table – no longer there I may add – I tidied!). With so many delicious recipes, it was difficult to choose but I finally plumped for pan-fried sea bream with green tahini and pomegranate seeds. Quite a simple dish really. As it states, pan-fried bream with a sauce made from tahini, lemon juice, garlic, parsley and seasoning – a doddle to make in the food processor. Decorated (?) with some beautiful pomegranate seeds. It’s a colourful dish as the sauce is green! I served a few fried potatoes on the side because I had some boiled potatoes left from Friday night and I hate waste. It was a lovely combination of flavours.

IMG_3790

OK, so the only advance preparation the main course required was the sauce so plenty time left. Next came bread and dessert. The bread I’ve told you about already so I’ll move quickly on to the pud. Bakewell tart. The recipe is one by Paul Hollywood which I found online. Shortcrust pastry base (made in the food processor so super quick) spread with raspberry jam and fresh raspberries then covered with frangipane (also done in the food processor) and sliced almonds. Yummy! It could have done with a teensy bit more almond extract but otherwise excellent. Too little almond extract is definitely better than too much.

IMG_3797

All those slices are now in my freezer as it freezes really well. I’ve also made the same tart with cherries and while both were delicious, I prefer the cherry version.

As there was quite a bit of tahini sauce leftover I made falafel for Sunday night. The recipe came from another book that was on the kitchen table Honey and Co: Food from the Middle East by Sarit Packer and Itamar Srulovich. There are three choices of falafel. I chose Haifa-style falafel (for Sarit) but I’m sure I’ll try the other two at a later date. They were very tasty and crispy. I decided to shallow fry them and they turned out perfectly.

IMG_3795

I almost forgot to take a photo and sadly one of those very tasty falafel had already made its way into my mouth. Ooooops!

This entry was posted in desserts, fish, mains, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

