cauli-wobbles

I suspect Graeme almost had an attack of the cauli-wobbles when I told him what was for dinner the other night.  Cauliflower salad.  It’s one of my favourite vegetables but not his.  Anyway, a couple of weeks ago Yotam Ottolenghi had some cauliflower recipes in the guardian newspaper and the recipe for cauliflower, pomegranate and pistachio salad caught my eye.  It sounded just delicious!  When asked what was in it, I was a little vague.  I couldn’t hide the roasted florets but I thought raw cauliflower might just be a step too far!  



Roasted florets, sautéed onions, pomegranate seeds, pistachios and grated raw cauliflower were the main ingredients with lots of fresh herbs added at the end along with some olive oil, lemon juice and cumin.  Fresh herbs are probably the most expensive item in the supermarket when you work it the cost per kilo but, if there was one thing I learnt at Ballymaloe, it was the difference fresh herbs make in cooking.  (Actually, I learned heaps of things 😀).  The contrast of textures was really good and I really loved all the fresh herbs.  Yotam Ottolenghi is so creative with his flavour combinations.  When Graeme asked if he could have what was left the next night – and there wasn’t much – you could’ve knocked me down with a feather!  And yes, I did confess that there was raw cauliflower in it! 

Just in case you’re wondering why I don’t have lots of lovely fresh herbs growing in my greenhouse – it’s a wee bit too cold just now and it doesn’t have any heating … yet!  This was what I woke up to this morning …..

Very pretty!

This entry was posted in mains, salad, Yotam Ottolenghi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to cauli-wobbles

  1. Sarah Allan says:

    salad and garden both look lovely! I love cauliflower hot or cold.

  2. susied123 says:

    Sounds delicious- love the pic of the garden too!!

  3. I imagine that would convert any cauliflower hater. I have a caulk in the fridge so I might make this tonight. I have some parsley in the poly that has survived the winter so that will be going in. That snow is very pretty.

    • Oh you have a poly tunnel – that must be very handy during our winters. Hopefully spring is here! So lovely to see the snowdrops and crocuses.

      • I am very naughty and neglect the poly over winter. I have just dug out all the overwintering weeds today. That was hard work. But I have some cabbages and the parsley that have survived my neglect. The cauli was lovely. I don’t follow the recipe word for word ( I don’t seem capable of it) but I roasted some and grated some and added parsley, tomatoes, pecans, walnuts, feta, sautéed onions and vinaigrette. Delcious. Thank you for the inspiration. x

      • That sounds equally delicious! 😀 The garden is a lot a of hard work. Graeme planted some rhubarb in a raised bed and it was so wet he thought nothing was happening but we’ve just spotted it coming through! Very exciting.

Leave a Reply

