bread, bread and more bread

I recently visited The School of Artisan Food on the Welbeck Estate in Nottinghamshire for a four day Artisan Baking Session.  It was fantastic!  Emmanuel Hadjiandreou, assisted by David Carter, showed us how to make everything from a plain white loaf to a rye sourdough as well as croissants and Danish pastries!  It was an action-packed four days and I did hope to write about each what we did each day but unfortunately I had no internet.  All the breads were made using a folding technique which makes it quite easy rather than feeling you’ve had a strenuous workout.  Although, if that’s what you want, go for it!

We arrived at 9 o’clock each day for breakfast (toast and croissants) then made bread from 9.30-5.00 with an hour for lunch every day.  Lunch was provided and each day they were more delicious.  Lamb and pomegranate salad, roasted vegetables, pulled pork (divine!), quiche, and more – accompanied, of course, by a selection of home made bread and cheese*.  Thank you girls!

A small selection of the bread I made …

 On the last day we made croissants and Danish pastries which looked so professional.  We all made the croissant dough and puff pastry but did a batch bake so I’m not sure if these were actually mine but I can assure you they all looked amazing and tasted scrumptious!  And that’s from someone who’s not really a pastry eater!  I took home two of each and for my supper I managed to devour a pain au raisin (my Danish pastry of choice – only if forced to have one you understand) and a pain au chocolat!

 

Now, I know exactly what you’re thinking – two of everything and two missing but not a pain au raisin or pain au chocolat.  Worry not!  The missing two went to the owner of the B and B I was staying at as they were her favourite and not into my tummy!

We did a photo shoot at the end of the last day ….. 

It was a brilliant weekend.  I met some lovely new people and I learned how to make better bread in beautiful surroundings.  The only downside for me was that I couldn’t take all my bread home because I was travelling by train.  I did manage to pack up my pastries for the journey home though!

*The Welbeck Estate is the home of the Stichelton cheese referred to in my post “cheese on toast”

This entry was posted in bread, Emmanuel Hadjiandreou and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to bread, bread and more bread

  1. susied123 says:

    All looks so delicious Caroline- I would just eat it though!!😄

  2. What a lovely way to spend a weekend. The pastries look delicious. I like his folding technique too, a good one for those who don’t or can’t easily knead their bread.

Leave a Reply

